OEF Awards Logo

OEF Annual Awards: Recognizing Excellence in Okemos Public Schools

Part of the OEF's mission is to recognize the excellence that exists within Okemos Public Schools. Each fall we host the OEF Awards Banquet, where we honor those who have made significant contributions to our school community.

Help us congratulate the most recent OEF Award recipients

2020 OEF Award Recipients

Commitment to Excellence Award:
Jose Gutiérrez - OHS Spanish Teacher
Paul Hinze - Kinawa 5/6 Teacher
Tyler Hursey - OHS Math Teacher
Rachel Krier - Okemos Montessori at Central Resource Room Teacher
Melissa Samluk - OHS French Teacher
Cyndi Webster - Director of the Library Media Centers at Chippewa and Kinawa Schools


Award recipients will be honored at the OEF Annual Awards Banquet.
Plan to join us on Tuesday, November 16, 2021 at MSU's Kellogg Center.

Okemos Education Foundation Awards

Commitment to Excellence

Educators and Administrators: teachers, counselors, school social workers, psychologists, speech therapists, principals
Honors educators and administrators who:
  • Inspire and motivate students
  • Promote the welfare of students
  • Implement innovative and/or creative ideas
  • Provide leadership within the school community.

Recipients receive a $1,000 classroom grant.

Special Recognition

Support Staff: administrative assistants, secretaries, bus drivers, cafeteria workers, custodians, paraprofessionals and aides
Honors support staff who embody a commitment to excellence and who have made a significant, positive impact on students, staff and/or the school community.
Available to those who do not quality for the Commitment to Excellence Award.
Nominees must be employed by Okemos Public Schools.

Dean Bolton Volunteer Service

Honors individuals who have made a significant, positive impact on students, staff, and/or the school community through their extraordinary volunteer service.

Dan c. wertz Founder's

Presented to an individual or business that has demonstrated a commitment to quality education through their generous financial support of the Okemos Education Foundation.


Honors an alumnus of Okemos Public Schools who demonstrates exceptional dedication and achievement as well as humanitarian contributions. Learn more about the alumni award