Okemos superintendent Alena Zachery-Ross

Alena Zachery-Ross

was the Superintendent of Okemos Public Schools during the 2017-18 academic year. Prior to that, she was the Superintendent of Schools for the Muskegon Heights Public School Academy, the first public charter school district in the United States, where she served in that role for 5 years. She is recognized as being responsible for turning around the entire district profile, including student discipline, student and staff attendance, dropout rate, and graduation rate. She previously worked in Van Dyke Public Schools in Warren, MI for nine years where she served as an Assistant Superintendent for curriculum and instruction, Elementary School Principal, Middle School Principal, School Psychologist and Teacher Consultant during her tenure there. Previous to working in the Van Dyke Public Schools district, Mrs. Ross was an Elementary School Teacher and School Psychologist for the Detroit Public Schools district.
Mrs. Zachery-Ross attended Grand Valley State University where she received a Bachelor’s Degree with a major in Special Education/Psychology in 1995. She earned her Masters of Arts in Education Psychology from Wayne State University in 1999 and currently she is pursuing an ED.D in Administration Leadership.
As a visionary leader, she possesses extensive experience in leadership development and group collaboration. She is an experienced K-12 school and central office administrator with a comprehensive background in elementary and secondary instruction, curriculum development, communications, multi-cultural education, school safety, budget and finance, professional learning communities, group facilitation, team building, grant writing, community relations, and data analysis. Mrs. Ross continues to be a sought after speaker, educational consultant and professional developer.
In her spare time, Mrs. Ross enjoys reading, travelling  and spending time with her family.

She served as an OEF trustee during her tenure in Okemos.

Learn More:
Current OEF Trustees
Former OEF Trustees